• Beamish Museum Pockerley Waggonway Steam Elephant replica

    Beamish Museum Pockerley Waggonway Steam Elephant replica. Photo by T.E.

  • Hadlow-Road-station-on-Wirral-Way-in-sunshine

    Hadlow Road station on Wirral Way. Photo by T.E.

  • Kidsgrove-Harecastle-tunnel-boat-entering-N-portal-older-tunnel-on-right

    Kidsgrove Harecastle tunnel boat entering N portal older tunnel on right. Photo by T.E.

  • Anderton-Lift-narrow-boat-Cumbrian-Lass-approaching-from-Weaver-Navigation

    Anderton Lift, narrow boat 'Cumbrian Lass' approaching from Weaver Navigation. Photo by T.E.

  • Sonning-Cutting-6024-The-Bristolian

    Sonning Cutting, 6024 The Bristolian. Photo by T.E.

  • Transporter Bridge - Newport

    Transporter Bridge - Newport - Postcard provided by R.B

  • Snowdon Mountain from Train Road - Llanberis

    Snowdon Mountain from Train Road - Llanberis. Postcard provided by R.B

  • Llangollen from the bridge

    Llangollen from the bridge. Postcard provided by R.B.

  • Falkirk-Wheel-quarter-rotation

    Falkirk Wheel quarter rotation. Photo by T.E.

  • Britannia Bridge - Bangor

    Britannia Bridge - Bangor - Postcard provided by R.B.

Announcements & Important Dates For Your Diary

Society's Annual General Meeting
  • The 2017 AGM will be held at Reed Hall, Exeter University on Saturday 22nd April 2017 commencing at 10.30am.
  • Click here for How to find Reed Hall
AGM Weekend: All Coach Trips & Overnight Accommodation are now Fully Booked
  • Members are welcome to attend the Annual General Meeting: click here for details
Ninth Waterways History Conference: 24th June 2017
  • The programme for this conference has been finalised
  • Venue: The Staff House, Birmingham University (24th June 2017)
  • Click for Programme & Booking Form
Two New Books Published by RCHS now available for purchase
Clinker Memorial Lecture; 14th October 2017
(William Fairbairn: experimental C19th engineer)
2nd International Early Main Line Railways Conference; 14th - 17th June, 2018
(co-sponsored by RCHS)
Click here for a Selection of Past Events